Key Information

Key Information (Last Updated September 2017)

Alexandra Park School became a Multi-Academy Trust (MAT) at the beginning of January 2017.  MATs are state-funded organisations that are responsible for running one or more schools.  The name of the MAT is the New River Trust (NRT).  The NRT MAT is responsible, currently for running one school, Alexandra Park School (APS).  MATs are directly accountable to the department for Education (DfE), with whom they have a Funding Agreement.

The governance structure for the NRT includes the ‘Members’ (the NRT has a total of 4) and the ‘Board of Trustees’ (up to a total of 10 at the NRT).  The Members and Board of Trustees must ensure that they are compliant at all times with their Articles of Association.  The Articles of Association are agreed between the Mat and the DfE.  The Articles of Association for the NRT, which are based on the DfE Model Articles, are available here.

What do Members of the NRT do?

The Members of a MAT are responsible for making sure that the MAT acts within its constitutional powers.  They have the right to amend the Articles of Association and they are responsible for agreeing appointments to the Board of Trustees.  

The Members of the NRT, with effect from 31st January 2017, are:

  • Shelia Daley
  • Steph Gold
  • Rachel Wells (Who is also the Chair of the baord of trustees)
  • Gloria Wyse

Brief CVs of the Members are available here.

What does the NRT Board of Trustees do?

The NRT Board of Trustees is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the Trust, holding the Chief Executive of the Trust to account and for ensuring the MAT's financial probity.  Academy Trusts are also charitable companies and the Trustees are company directors and must comply with company law requirements.  The terms of reference for the Board of Trustees, including a detailed list of their duties, are available here.

The NRT Members have appointed all of the current NRT Trustees.  All Trustees, other than the Chief Executive (who remains a Trustee until such time as they are no longer employed by the NRT) have been appointed for a period of 2 years with effect from 1st January 2017.

Current NRT Trustees are:

  • Rachel Wells (Chair)
  • Lindsay Pinnick (Joint Vice Chair)
  • Jamie Scott (Joint Vice Chair)
  • Jackie Beer
  • Steph Gold
  • Michael McKenzie (Chief Executive)

Brief biographical details of the Trustees are available here.

The Board of Trustees has created a sub-committee, the Resources Committee, that retains strategic oversight and monitors estates and finance matters on its behalf.  The Resources Committee is responsible for recommending the NRT's annual budget for adoption by the Board of Trustees and for recommending the annual financial statements for approval by the Board of Trustees and review by the Members.  The Terms of Reference for the NRT Resources Committee are available here.

The current Members of the Resources Committee are:

  • Jamie Scott (Trustee and Chair of the Resources Committee)
  • Steph Gold (Trustee)
  • Karin Harrison (APS Local Governor)
  • Michael McKenzie (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Lindsay Pinnick (Trustee)
  • Nigel Scott (APS Local Governor)

Alexandra Park School is a school within the New River Trust.  The New River Trust will appoint a Local Governors' Advisory Group (up to a total of 11 people) for any school within its Trust.  All Local Governors' Advisory Groups include the elected Parent Governors and Elected Staff Governors.  The Headteacher of the school serves on the Local Governors' Advisory Group.

What do Local Governors' Advisory Groups do?

Local Governors' Advisory Groups (LGAGs) provide focused governance for the New River Trust at a local level, i.e. for their own school.  The LGAG for Alexandra Park School monitors the key performance indicators of the school, and acts as a critical friend to the Headteacher, providing challenge where appropriate. Local Governors also act as ambassadors for the school.The terms of reference of New River Trust Local Governors' Advisory Group are available here.  

The current Local Governors for Alexandra Park School are:

  • Lindsay Pinnick (Chair of APS LGAG and Trustee of NRT)
  • Leila Hamlin (Elected Support Staff Governor)
  • Karin Harrison (Elected Parent Governor)
  • Lynwen Jones (Elected Parent Governor)
  • Nathan Richardson (Elected Teaching Staff Governor)
  • Michael McKenzie (Headteacher of APS and Chief Executive of NRT)(Appointed Governor*)
  • Nigel Scott (Appointed Governor*)

*Appointed Governors are appointed by the Board of Directors

Brief biographical details of APS Local Governors are available here.

Alexandra Park school is currently seeking applications for role of Local Governor. For more information or apply, please refer to the Local Governor role description here.

Trustees and Local Governors must complete annually a Register of Interests. The Policy on Conflicts of Interest and Third Party Transactions and the Register of Interests for 2016-2017 are attached here.

Before APS became the New River Trust

Before APS became the New River Trust, it had a single Governing Body.  The details of those who served as Governors for APS in 2016-2017, until it became the New River Trust in January 2017, are included in the Complete List of Members, Trustees and Governors 2017-2018.

The Clerk to the Board of Trustees is Emma Bell.  Any communications to the Chair of the Board of Trustees, or any questions about governance, should be addressed to Emma in the first instance. Emma can be contacted at

Downloadable items

Raising a concern about Alexandra Park School
Alexandra Park School / New River Trust financial statements (APS 2013, APS 2014, APS 2015, NRT 2016)
Articles of Association
New River Trust Members
Terms of Reference for the Board of Trustees
Terms of Reference for the Resources Committee
New River Trust Trustees
Terms of Reference for the Local Governors' Advisory Group
APS Local Governors' Advisory Group
Complete list of Members, Trustees and Governors 2017-2018
NRT Policy on Conflicts of Interest
NRT Register of Interests 2016-2017
NRT Memorandum of Association
NRT Scheme of Delegation and Vision Statement

NRT Attendance Records - Governors and Trustees

2016-2017 School year 2017-2018 School year